A Man Called Ove – Fredrik Backman

Image result for a man called ove

Rating: 3/5 Stars

This was another book I picked up because I had been hearing so many good things about it. Honestly, I had so much trouble believing that Ove was only 59. Throughout the entire book I kept picturing an 80-year-old man. I know this should have been a small detail, but I was not able to overlook it. Since the entire book was based on Ove being a grumpy, old man I had to keep reminding myself that he wasn’t really that old, only 59. However, everyone kept acting like he was 80. Despite my trouble with this, I kept reading.

Ove is an 59-year-old man living on his own since his wife passed away. He sees the world in black and white and is often grumpy with people who are doing things “wrong”. He doesn’t feel like he has anything left in life now that his wife is gone and he wants to take his own life. However, his neighbors keep needing him and of course he needs to help. I liked the idea of this story, however after a while it seemed like the same thing happening over and over again.

Despite all this, there were plenty of times I felt myself enjoying some of his neighbors and their interactions. In addition, I enjoyed the flashbacks of Ove’s life. While I definitely didn’t love it as much as everyone else it was still a cute book and based on everyone else’s love for it I’d recommend it.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

