The Nest – Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney

Image result for the nest

Rating: 2/5 Stars

I have mixed feelings about this book. I originally picked it up because I had been hearing so many people rave about it. However, once I started I hated it. I didn’t like any of the characters; none of them were relatable and they all seemed selfish and shallow. I decided to keep reading anyway because I enjoyed the writing and felt like there might be hope for the story.

It’s hard reading a book when you dislike all of the characters. I found it hard to believe that every single character was so unlikeable. When reading a book I don’t expect to like all of the characters, but I’d like to at least partially relate with one character instead of thinking they are all stupid and making bad decisions.

As the novel went on, there were moments when I started to like some of the characters. And that’s why I decided to keep reading. Every once and a while something would happen where I had some hope for a character or I enjoyed a scene. However, when it came to the ending it seemed cliché and predictable. Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy this book as everyone else seems to.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

