Star Sand – Rogers Pulvers

Image result for star sand book

Rating: 3/5 Stars

Star Sand is the story of a sixteen-year-old girl living in Japan during Word War II. She finds two deserters (one American and one Japanese) hiding out in a cave. The book is written as a diary which was found in the caves years later. I loved the concept of the book and the story flowed well and was interesting to read.

I found myself enjoying the story, however closer to the end of the book it shifted perspectives and it went downhill from there. The college student (I believe graduate) was extremely annoying and talked like she was a pre-teen. As a 22-year-old myself, I was actually offended reading her parts; I find it unbelievable that a student writing her thesis would speak like that and add multiple exclamation points to the end of sentences.

In addition, I did not like the way the story wrapped up; the conclusion seemed rushed. As the student is researching the cave for her thesis we are given new details about the cave; however they seemed rushed and left the reader with a lot of questions.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

