The Restaurant Critic’s Wife – Elizabeth LaBan

Rating: 3/5 Stars

I was really excited when I first received this book. However, as I began reading I became very annoyed with Lila’s husband Sam. Honestly, I can not imagine a person acting like that and I cannot imagine someone putting up with it. Especially because Lila’s character seems like a strong woman who would not put up with that kind of behavior. I know Sam’s character was probably written for the reader not to like him, but for me I had trouble reading the book and sympathizing with Lila. In addition, it made the book a little unbelievable.

However, other than that there was plenty to enjoy about the novel. I enjoyed reading about Lila and her life. It was refreshing to read about her life because it felt so genuine. While being humorous, we still saw her struggles with moving to a new place, trying to makes friends, motherhood, and wanting to go back to work. And despite the fact that I felt like Sam ruined everything I was drawn into the novel enough to keep reading and see what happened.

I received this book for free through Goodreads Giveaways.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

