Season of Salt & Honey – Hannah Tunnicliffe

Season of Salt and Honey Rating: 4/5 Stars Season of Salt & Honey is a bittersweet story; a journey of love and loss, the saltiness and sweetness of life. While the subject matter is dealing with grief and loss the book doesn’t seem too heavy and would make a good summer read. After her fiancé, Alex, dies in a tragic accident, Frankie retreats her well-meaning but overbearing family to and old cabin that belongs to Alex’s family. Frankie wants to mourn alone, but she is interrupted by both her family and new friends in the woods causing her to think about her relationship with her family, fiancé, and herself. The book was centered on food and an Italian-American family.  I enjoyed the emphasis on food and the role it played in all the characters lives, however I didn’t really understand the recipes after some of the chapters. This may seem picky of me, but I would have preferred the recipes to be at the end of the book. Yes, most of the foods were mentioned throughout the book, but I felt like it interrupted the flow of the story because I found myself skipping pages to get back to the story, when I would have like to appreciate the recipes. Or if I looked at a recipe I found myself getting drawn in to the recipe and trying to figure out the significance of it. However, that might just be my personal preference and overall I enjoyed the recipes being included since food was such an integral part of the book. One of my favorite parts of this book was the characters, especially Frankie’s extended family and new friends she meets. All of the characters felt real and either frustrated me or made me smile. The community that Frankie found herself in was full of love and kindness. An aspect/character that I didn’t quite understand was Summer and her role in the book. Without giving anything away I thought it was an odd addition to the book and the parts that Summer was a part of felt awkward and not quite fitting with the rest of the story, even down to the dialogue and language that was used. For the most part the story was written beautifully, almost lyrical. However, the story felt like it moved slowly, but the climax and ending of the book felt rushed. That being said I felt compelled to read the whole book in one sitting and found myself smiling and crying throughout. I received a copy of this book from Momentum Books trough NetGalley.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

