The Lost Islander – Zach Benard

Rating: 5/5 Stars

The Lost Islander is Zach Benard’s debut poetry collection. This short collection is full of poems that can stand alone but are also woven together to tell a story. Benard tells the tale of a man who sets out to find the love of his life after she was forced to leave him. We follow him as he sails through the tumultuous ocean until he becomes shipwrecked. He must escape the island and his thoughts if he ever wants to find his love.

Unlike many books today this collection seems classic and timeless because it deals with themes that have affected humanity in the past and will continue to affect them in the future. We have all dealt with love and loss, whether it be romantic, within oneself, or relationships with family and friends. For this reason these poems will resonate with readers of all ages.

I appreciated the honest language that made me feel he was not holding anything back from the reader. The use of imagery is captivating and creates a setting for the reader to really visualize what is happening. I enjoyed the way Benard plays on words in different places. For example, “I fell hard into the ocean/I fell hard for you”; “That sinking feeling conquers all/I’ve got this sinking feeling in my heart.” The entire story can be used as a metaphor for getting stuck in life and desperately trying to get out of that rut, something we all can relate to. I enjoyed his book and I am curious and excited to see what Benard releases next.

Be sure to check out the author’s giveaway that ends on Friday. Click here for more info.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

