Carousel – Brendan Ritchie

Rating: 3/5 Stars

Carousel is about 4 young people who are trapped in a mall for months; they have all the resources they need, but they can’t escape. This book was extremely slow; there wasn’t a lot of action happening throughout the book. Every once in a while something would happen that would peak my interest and I thought the story was going somewhere, however it wasn’t. Nothing big ever happened in the story. For 300 pages I read about the life of living in an abandoned mall. For the most part it was mundane because it was so much of the book.

I found the beginning of the book confusing, which I’m sure was intentional; however it never became any clearer.  The interesting points that the author brought up were never solved. Brendan Ritchie brought up questions such as: Why were there only a few people trapped in the mall? What’s going on it the outside world? Why is there someone from outside who is able to come and go? But these questions were never answered. I read a 350 page novel about people who were trapped in a shopping centre and within the last 2 pages they were able to leave without much of an explanation. I felt like the author was building up all kinds of questions but never resolves them. I didn’t feel like the author was leaving it up to me as the reader to figure out and think about, but rather he hadn’t thought of the solution himself.

One aspect of the book I did enjoy was the development of the characters. I felt like the way the acted was accurate for being trapped somewhere for such a long time. Their thoughts and conversations were interesting and seemed accurate for people forced into survival mode. I also thought the premise of the book was intriguing. The author clearly thought about how one would survive if they were trapped in a shopping centre for a long time. It was interesting to see all the resources they had available to them and how they used them.

Overall, this was a fair book. I enjoyed the character development and the premise of the book. However, I felt like the author promised a lot and didn’t deliver. It almost felt like he didn’t think about the story thoroughly   and what was happening. He didn’t offer any proper explanations for what was occurring in the book, especially the end.

I received this book for free through Goodreads First Reads.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

