Bringing Narnia Home – Devin Brown

Rating: 4/5 Stars

I have fond memories of reading The Chronicles of Narnia as a child. I was excited to read Devin Brown’s Bringing Narnia Home to take a deeper look at C.S. Lewis’ work. Brown writes a book to help readers apply the lessons from Narnia into their lives. The beginning of the book states that you should have read all of the Narnia books; however, if you are vaguely familiar with the books you will enjoy this read.

Brown finds the lessons Lewis has placed in his Narnia books by using examples from different Narnia stories in each chapter to illustrate a point. At the end of each chapter there are questions to help you think even more about the lessons talked about. I also think these questions would make this a good story to read in a book club or helpful if you were to read this book with your family/children; these questions help open up discussion.

The book is simple, straightforward and easy to read. Having read Narnia as a child it was interesting to go back and take a look at the stories I loved and read how the lessons in them could be applied to my life today. Brown has created a book that can be read and enjoyed by many ages. Reading Brown’s book just shows how complex Lewis’ writing really is and how the reader can get more out of the stories the more in depth they look or the older they are.

I would recommend this book to anyone who has read The Chronicles of Narnia, no matter your age or when you last read the books.

I received a free copy of this book from Abingdon Press through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

