Me and Mom Fall for Spencer – Diane Munier

Rating: 2/5 Stars

Diane Munier has written a story full of drama, romance, and mystery. It is told in first person narration, stream of consciousness. We read the story through Sarah’s eyes and get all of her thoughts and observations. I appreciated the narration of a regular person dealing with their feelings, even though her thoughts were all over the place and the book moved extremely quickly. While I felt like the narration was an honest voice, I was confused throughout much of the book.

I was confused; confused about Sarah, confused about her mother, confused about their relationship, confused about Spencer, confused about the town. And it wasn’t the type of confused that is fun because the mystery will be solved in the end. The whole book felt like it was building up to some big reveal. There is the mystery of Frieda and how she was murdered and who is Spencer and what is his background? There was such an underlying mystery and I felt like it ended very abruptly and was wrapped up very quickly and nicely in the end. I hated the fact that their relationship moved so quickly. Sarah told Spencer all about her life and past and he still didn’t feel like he should tell her about himself. And as a reader, the fact that when the truth about him came out about him and it wasn’t a big deal it was a huge let-down for me.

That’s not to say there weren’t moments I liked, because there were. Some of the scenes between the characters seemed genuine and I felt myself getting drawn into their life a bit. However, my confusion won over in the end. I liked it well enough to read the entire book, however it was just an average book that was a bit strange to read.

I received a free copy of this book through Word Slinger Publicity in exchange for an honest review.

Visit the author’s website: Diane Munier.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

