Hand Drawn Jokes for Smart Attractive People – Matthew Diffee

Rating: 2/5 Stars

I must not be a smart, attractive person because I did not appreciate or like Matthew Diffee’s book Hand Drawn Jokes for Smart Attractive People. This book is a collection of cartoons and one-liner’s from Diffee, who does comics for The New Yorker. Let me start by saying I appreciated all the hand drawn cartoons. I really liked that aspect. However, only a few made me smile; I had no reaction to most of them and a few were offensive. I understand that jokes sometimes poke fun at certain people and that’s what makes them funny, however, these seemed to go beyond that and enter into the offensive and not funny category.

A complaint I have about this copy was the formatting. I completely understand everything not being perfect since this was an advanced copy. However, often times the cartoons were mashed together so I couldn’t read them at all and a lot of the text was random letters that made absolutely no sense. At least half of the book was like this which made it annoying to read because I spent pages just flipping through not able to make sense of anything.

Overall, this book disappointed me and was not what I was expecting. Perhaps I have the wrong sense of humor for it. If you can relate to Matthew Diffee’s humor and can get a nicely formatted book then perhaps you might enjoy this book, but my guess is that most people  aren’t going to be “smart and attractive” enough.

I received a copy of this book as an E-arc from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

