Coffee, Tea and Holy Water – Amanda Hudson

Rating: 3/5 Stars

When I first started Coffee, Tea and Holy Water I was intrigued and excited to read about Amanda Hudson’s travels. Amanda Hudson wants to see how Christianity works in other countries so she visits Brazil, Wales, Tanzania, China, and Houndras. I was really interested in the idea of traveling to other countries and seeing how Christians live.

One aspect of the book I really enjoyed was hearing about other Christians from around the world and learning about their testimonies. Hudson talks with local Christians about their stories and also asks about challenges and concerns in their area. In addition, I liked getting to read a little bit about the background of the countries.

However, I felt like Hudson often compared other culture’s practices to Americans. While, this might have been helpful to some people to me it seemed a little disrespectful to compare everything to American culture. And at times she seemed extremely sheltered. And while I appreciate her honestly and knowing her feelings, I was kind of surprised by some of the comments she made. Sometimes I felt like Amanda Hudson had preconceived notions and stereotypical thoughts about certain countries.

I received a copy of this book as a free eBook from Abingdon Press through NetGalley.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

