Poppy’s Hero

Poppy’s Hero is a children’s book about a girl who is dealing with her father being put in prison. Overall, I thought it was a fairly well written book. Poppy has a hard time dealing with it in the beginning, but later on her friends seem supportive. They hatch a plan to help her dad escape prison because Poppy believes he is innocent. I thought that it made sense that Poppy was trying   to get her dad out of prison because it was her way  of coping, however, adults in the book, and other men in prison, were saying that they would help, which I thought was unrealistic.

Another thing that confused me a bit was trying to figure out what age group this book was written for. Poppy’s oldest friend in the book was eleven and it seemed as if she was at least a year or two younger. Children don’t generally like reading books about characters younger than themselves; however, I’m not sure a younger child would be interested either.

I received this book for free through Goodreads First Read. I was not required to write a review and this review contains my honest opinion.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

