Top 5 Books of the Month (October)

Okay, honestly I only read 5 books this month, but here they are.

1. Eat, Pray, Love by: Elizabeth Gilbert

I watched this movie when it first came out and I just got around to reading the book. I loved it; I am so interested in culture and I focused on the culture aspect of the book more than Elizabeth’s spiritual journey.

2. Everything In Its Path by: Kai Erikson

I read this for Sociology and while some parts of it were sort of boring or redundant overall it was really interesting to learn about the mountain people. I enjoyed learning about their way of life and why they struggled after the disaster.

Charlie St. Cloud by: Ben Sherwood

I think my favorite thing about this book was the love between Charlie and Sam, that’s the kind of love I wish everybody had. Also I liked how the novel took place in Massachusetts and that they were Red Sox fans. 🙂 It was so beautifully written that I couldn’t put it down.

4. The Reader by: Bernhard Schlink

I read this book because a friend recommended it and I really enjoyed it. It was very intense and emotional. And while it may not be the happiest tale it was very unforgettable.

One God One Message by: P.D. Bramsen

I personally wasn’t a huge fan of this book, but I can see it being an excellent tool for someone who wants to learn more about God, especially a Muslim.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Top 5 Books of the Month and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top 5 Books of the Month (October)

  1. Christine says:

    I wondered what you’d think of Eat, Pray, Love, because I thought the spiritual stuff in it didn’t fit you completely. The cultural stuff, though– that makes sense.

Leave a Reply

