A Year’s Worth of Inspiration

I’m going to start off by saying that this book is not what I expected it to be. From looking at the title and reading the description I thought it was going to be more of a devotional or scripture based book. Instead each of the twelve chapters starts off with a narrative from the author and then a bunch of quotes from various famous people. And while some of the quotes were said by Christians, there wasn’t anything relating to scripture at all.
While a copy of this book might be great if I ever need to find quotes for something, it was not the book I had hoped it would be. I felt that Louis Montgomery Jr.’s short narratives were fairly basic and I didn’t really feel drawn to any of them. And although he may of hand-picked all the quotes I feel as though he didn’t actually do much writing for this book.
I received a copy of this book for free from Dorrance Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Year’s Worth of Inspiration

  1. dylanbparker says:

    Reblogged this on abookfromtheshelf and commented:
    An excellent review by an excellent fellow reader! This review just goes to show that just because it’s in the Christian section at the book store doesn’t mean it’s Christian…

  2. This review and comment shows the limitation caused by assumptions and categorization. My book is designed as a daily guide for thoughts, reflection and motivation and is non-denominational. The writer of this comment has obviously not read the book.

  3. It looks to me like you are making an assumption that I didn’t read your book, when I obviously did. I simply stated that it wasn’t what I expected, because it wasn’t. I was told to give my honest opinion of your book and that’s what I did.

Leave a Reply

