Penny Necklace

In Kathrine Grey’s novel the reader will bounce back and forth from Aisley’s life at age fifteen and then her life fifteen years later. When Aisley turns fifteen she decides to travel down the “forbidden” railroad trestle near her house. She meets a teenage runaway and they spend the rest of the summer together. One day he disappears and Aisley never hears from him again. Fifteen years later, Aisley is brought back to her hometown because of her grandfather’s illness. She has never forgotten that one summer and she is determined to find her fist love from all those years ago and happiness.

Honestly, when I first started reading this book I didn’t think I was going to like it. But, I ended up being so wrong! Kathrine Grey wrote the story so beautifully, both when Aisley was a teenager and when she was an adult. I found myself falling in love with Aisley and wanting her to find the boy from all those years ago.

Also I really liked the whole railroad and train theme throughout the whole book. I thought it made for an interesting backdrop and I learned a lot about railroads. I also understood, as someone who likes to travel, the appeal of trains and the railroad.

I would most certainly recommend this book. It was fabulous and a fairly quick read. I don’t want to spoil the book, but I absolutely loved the ending. And I’m very impressed that Kathrine Grey wrote the whole novel in thirty days. Oh, and it makes my day when the author signs the book. To me it shows how genuine they are and how important their readers are to them.

Image

I received this book for free through Goodreads First Read. I was not required to write a review and this review contains my honest opinion.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

