What’s Left of Me

In What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang, a child is born with two souls in one body, one dominate and one recessive. Usually by a early age one will stay and one will leave. This doesn’t always happen; sometimes two souls stay in one body, which is the case with Addie and Eva. These children are called hybrids and the government says that it isn’t healthy and the problem must be taken care of.

I really enjoyed the whole concept of this book. It was unlike any book I have ever read and I thought Kat Zhang wrote an excellent narrative. The whole idea of having two souls in one body made for a very interesting read. I liked that Eva, the recessive soul, was the narrator of the story. I felt that I had a change to get to know her and her voice was heard even though she had to pretend that she had disappeared. I felt that Addie and Eva completed each other; they both had their own strengths and weaknesses and I think they both need each other in order to survive.

The only thing I disliked about the book was that it left me with some questions. In their society were people always born with two souls? Why did they think hybrids were such a problem? Why did they have such an intense need to get rid of them? However, I really enjoyed the novel and plan on reading the next in the series. And maybe my questions will be answered.

I received this book for free through Goodreads First Read. I was not required to write a review and this review contains my honest opinion.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

