Top 5 Books of the Month (July)

1. A Walk in the Woods by: Bill Bryson

At some point in my life I would love to hike part of or the whole Appalachian Trail, so I’m up for reading any books on it. Bill Bryson’s story is funny and realistic as the how hiking can be.

2. Bloom by: Kelle Hampton

Kelle didn’t find out that her daughter had Down syndrome until after she was born. This book is a journey through Nella’s first year of life. It was a beautiful book and I loved all the photos.

3. Two Kisses for Maddy by: Matthew Logelin

In this raw and honest memoir, Matt shares his life with Liz and his life and now his life with Madeline. Matt is a talented writer and his comical memoir is a beautiful story. You could tell from reading this book what a great father he was and how much he loves Maddy.

4. The Art of Racing in the Rain by: Garth Stein

I don’t usually like books where the narrator is an animal, however I thought it really worked in this book. And I really liked the fact that Enzo was nearing the end of his life. Though Enzo the reader sees the simplicity of life and basic happiness.

5. A Piece of Cake by: Cupcake Brown

I was very impressed by Cupcake’s raw and honest memoir. She grew up on her own and had the life of an addict. It was uplifting to read how she eventually overcame her addictions.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Top 5 Books of the Month and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

