Touching the Sky

Touching the Sky by Tracie Peterson is the second book in her series. Like the first book the book didn’t solely consist of a romance. I like that. The story takes place after the Civil War in Texas. When Laura first meets Captain Brandon Reid he thinks she is being detained by his troops and  they start off their relationship on a misunderstanding. They eventually find out that they have a lot in common. Carissa, Laura’s younger sister, marries a former Confederate soldier who she thinks she is in love with. He doesn’t end up being the man Carissa thought he was.

I really liked the character of Laura. She was a strong female who was independent and wasn’t just going to do what any man told her; she was able to think for herself. I liked that Brand and Laura’s romance was drawn out and didn’t happen immediately; it made it more believable. Overall, I liked this historical fiction book better than the first in the series and I can’t wait to see how the third book compares.

I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

