Top 5 Books of the Month (June)

1) The Best of Me by: Nicholas Sparks 

I usually enjoy Nicholas Sparks’ books and I hadn’t read this one yet. The beginning of the book was hard for me to get through, but it picked up and got better as it went on. As I continued reading I got more involved in the character’s lives and I liked how it was an ending that I wasn’t expecting.

2. The Beginning of After by: Jennifer Castle 

I got really involved in this story. I raced through it hoping that everything would be okay for Laurel and shocked by everything that she went through. I thought Jennifer Castle did a fantastic job writing about a teenager dealing with grief, loss, and depression.

3. City of Bones by: Cassandra Clare 

This is not usually the type of book I read, however a bunch of my friends were reading it and loved it so I thought I would get it from the library. I thought it was very well-written. It started off being action packed right from the beginning. There were some surprises that shocked me as well.

4. The Shack by: William P. Young 

I know it’s a cliche thing to say about a book, but it truly did make me smile and make me cry. I thought this was a very powerful story. The only part I didn’t really agree with was the part about picturing God as whatever you want and/or fashioning God in our own image. But that is a fairly minor detail compared to all the parts I enjoyed.

5. The Peach Keeper by: Sarah Addison Allen

This was the first book I’ve read by Sarah Addison Allen and I have to say I agree with others when they say her work is magical. She manages to create an extraordinary world inside of her novel. I thought the relationships between the characters were well-developed and I loved reading about them.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Top 5 Books of the Month and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

