Chasing the Sun

I haven’t read many books by Tracie Peterson but I quite enjoyed this one. I don’t normally enjoy historical fiction, however I really enjoyed the historical background that related to life on a ranch and life during the Civil War. I thought it was really interesting learning about different soldiers and the Comanche tribes.
For the most part I thought the characters were well-developed. I found myself falling in love with Hannah, William, the children, and the help. As well as growing to hate Mr. Lockhart. However, I didn’t think Hannah and William’s relationship was fully developed and it seemed like it was lacking something.
I liked how Hannah was a strong-willed woman and she didn’t always just listen to the men. She thought things through and did what she ultimately knew would be best for herself, the children, and others. I disliked how there were some parts that were a bit boring. With not much happening for a few pages at a time I found myself wanting to skip ahead.
Overall, I really enjoyed this book and I read it quickly. I liked how it contained some romance, history, mystery, and action. I will probably read the second book in the series to how they compare.
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

