The Fiddler

I really enjoyed reading The Fiddler by Beverly Lewis. It was an interesting perspective to have two people from very different backgrounds and communities fall in love. I also liked the story behind Amelia’s violin and fiddle playing.
I thought the characters were very well developed. I found myself rooting for them and hoping for the best as the story came to an end. I wished the reader learned more about Joanna, but I researched and found out that the second book in the series is about her. I will definitely be getting my hands on a copy of it!
I liked how Beverly Lewis talked about the differences in both the Amish and English communities. As the reader I felt as though I was shown the good and bad of both ways of life. Lewis didn’t make one lifestyle seem better than the other. Instead she focused on the ways people can relate and find things in common with one another.
One complaint I have heard people say about this novel is that it is different than Beverly Lewis’ other books. While I agree that it isn’t the typical Amish fiction because most of the story is about Amelia’s life I thought it was a fantastic novel that discussed the relationships between the Amish and English.
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.

 

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

