Begin

Begin “a journey through scriptures for seekers and believers” includes the complete ESV text of Genesis 1-11, the Gospel of John, Paul’s letter to the Romans, and Revelation 21-22. Throughout the book there are little comments and notes that are supposed to help the reader. The end of the book includes a section called “What does it mean to be saved?” and “Ten basics to boldly proclaim a biblical worldview.”

While I thought what little comments were in the book were helpful and informative, especially to new believers there wasn’t very much content besides the scripture. They did a good job of picking out scripture that is important for new believers to read. However, the book didn’t contain much more besides that. A new believer would have gotten more notes and hints by reading a study Bible.

So while I believe that this book is helpful and gives new believers a good starting point I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it. The paragraph on the back of the book says, “…along with a powerful mix of commentary, historical information, and helpful detail…” I would have preferred the book if a little more of that was included. It almost seemed like fake advertising. Still if a new believer found this book it would be helpful a bit.

I received a free copy of this book from New Leaf Publishing Group in exchange for a review. I was not asked to write a positive review in exchange for a copy, but an honest review.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

