Top 5 Books of the Month (April)

1. The Fault in Our Stars by: John Green

I have been loving John Green! His novel tackles life, death, and love. A girl who has terminal cancer meets a boy at a cancer support group. Hazel, who has terminal cancer, meets Augustus at a cancer support group. The two kindred spirits shared a sense of humor and it was a pleasure to watch them fall in love and face universal questions about humanity.

2. The Elegance of the Hedgehog by: Muriel Barbery

I know this was a French bestseller so I thought it might be interesting to read. The story alternates with the concierge, Renee’s thoughts about her life and and Paloma Josse, a tweleve-year old who lives in the apartment building, who’s parents are wealthy and have professional lives.  The novel had a focus on philosophy and was quite an interesting read.

3. Love Story by: Jennifer Echols

I actually really enjoyed this book. I thought it was interesting how the main communication between Erin and Hunter was through their creative writing assignments. I also liked Erin as a character. Even though she came from old money, she was determined to work hard on her own.

4. The Stranger by: Albert Camus

This is another book that was originally written in French, however I had to read it for English class. It was a short novel and a quick read, but still thought-provoking. The book deals with the subject of life. Camus addresses the absurdity of life.

5. Her Fearful Symmetry by: Audrey Niffenegger

I loved The Time Traveler’s Wife so I was excited to read this. I really enjoyed it. The characters were well developed and the story line was captivating. I couldn’t put it down and I never knew what was coming next. It was excellently written.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Top 5 Books of the Month and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top 5 Books of the Month (April)

  1. Cassie says:

    I rarely read books that are heavy with philosophy but The Elegance of the Hedgehog is next on my list so I’m excited. I really hated Her Fearful Symmetry and i have no idea why. I think it was the plot I hated, and the twins characters. It was all just a bit strange – the setting was described beautifully though!

  2. I don’t usually read books with lots of philosophy either, but I really enjoyed The Elegance of the Hedgehog. Honestly, I didn’t like Her Fearful Symmetry nearly as much as The Time Traveler’s Wife and I can see your point because the plot was a bit strange!

Leave a Reply

