Quiet

In our culture we take pride in being extroverted. From a young age we are taught to learn in groups and be outgoing because being social is good.
Susan Cain talks about the other side and the fact that between a third and a half of all people are introverted. So if you always felt like the quiet odd man out because you wanted to be on your own, chances are there were a bunch of others feeling the same way. I really enjoyed Cain’s writing style. I liked the studies and statistics, but appreicated that the whole book wasn’t just filled with them. I gained a greated understanding of how intorverted people feel and think. I liked that she made a point saying that it is better than not everyone is extroverted and how introverts are often able to accomplish tasks that extroverts have trouble with.
After reading this book I saw intorverts in a whole new light and I believe that it will give many introverts more confidence about themselves. In our society, it is considered “normal” to be extroverted. I think that this book helps give the understanding that it is normal to be introverted as well as extroverted; two different personality types that can work together to accomplish goals.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

