Unashamed To Bear His Name

Unashamed To Bear His Name is written by R.T. Kendall, minister of Westminster Chapel for 25 years and an accomplished author and speaker. The whole premise of the book is accepting the stigma of the gospel. Kendall persuasively talks about the stigma that comes with being a Christian and being glad to accept it.

R.T. Kendall writes: “I write this book basically for one reason: that you will be unashamed to accept the scandal that arises from following Jesus Christ. More than that, you should become willing to embrace that scandal, to take it with both hands and rejoice in the privilege that you are a part of the greatest enterprise on the planet–namely, to be associated with the name of Jesus Christ.”  This is the main point of his book and he passionately writes to make this point known. Kendall wrote this book unashamed of what others would think of him because he believed that it an important point to get across.

For the most part I enjoyed this book. It was a fairly quick read and I agreed with his main point. There were some times where the book was a bit dry or the point seemed a bit overdrawn. However, as a whole I thought this was a thought-provoking read and R.T. Kendall definitley got his point across.

I received this book free of charge from Chosen Books in exchange for my honest review.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

