Denied (Fiction Friday)

“This is all I have.” I said as I emptied my pockets. The contents of my pockets were laid out on the plastic table.  My keys, a package of spearmint gum, a paper clip, and a total of forty-eight cents. The police officer across from me was a surly-looking man in about his fifties. His nametag read Officer James. He glared at me suspiciously as if I was lying.

“Honestly. You can search me if you need to.”

The officer sighed, “I was hoping we could just do this the easy way.”

The thing was, I knew exactly what he was looking for. And I had it in my possession less than thirty minutes ago. It was a simple object. One that most students carry around with them. A flash drive.

“Alright then, let’s go.” The officer said gruffly. I lifted my arms as he patted my entire body down. “Hmm.” He muttered as he found nothing.

He led me to a small room, with three old, metal chairs and a table sitting in the middle of the room. “Sit here. Someone will be in here in a minute.”

I took a sit on the cold metal and waited. The walls were a beige color and the paint was peeling. The only thing on the wall was a clock that read 8:45. It had been almost an hour now. Outside of the room I heard Officer James’s voice talking to someone else. Probably the detective they were going to send in.

“I don’t know. I really thought he would still have it on him.”

“Well,” the detective answered, “I’ll talk to him.”

I stared as the dented doorknob began to turn. In walked an intimidating man who was about six feet five inches tall. He meant business.

“Detective Woods.” He extended his hand out to shake mine. I slowly lifted my hand up until it reached his. His tight grip felt deadly. “I just have a few questions to ask you. So I’m going to assume you know what this is all about.”

Thoughts were racing through my head. I quickly scrambled to think of a good answer. Should I tell him I knew what it was about?  Or should I lie and say I had no idea?  “I’m not sure,” I finally verbalized.

“Okay well I’ll just give you a quick run-down. We’re looking for a shiny, green flash drive with the initials B.H. on the back. We have confirmation that you have a flash drive like this and we just want to check it out.”

“What do you want a flash drive for?” I asked trying to keep my voice even.

“There’s important information on it. And we have reason to believe that you stole it.”

“I honestly don’t know what you’re talking about,” I retorted.

The detective looked at me skeptically as if he wasn’t sure if he should believe me. My heart raced as I waited to see if he would believe my lie.”

“You will be in less trouble if you just tell us the truth, son.”

I hated when people called me son. Why was he acting friendly with me all of the sudden? Calling me son wasn’t going to make me change my story.

“I am.”

The detective exhaled a breath of air and thought about what he should say next. He looked like he was starting to get mad. I hoped that I could successfully convince him that I didn’t know what he was talking about.

“Listen kid, I know you know what I’m talking about. Just tell me what you did with it.”

I smirked because I knew they had no idea where the flash drive was. I decided to play with Detective Woods for a while. “Maybe I could help you find it if I knew what was so important about it.”

There was a long pause as he looked at me and tried to figure out what to do. I think he knew that I was messing with him, but he didn’t know what he could legally do to me.

“That flash drive contained Betty Hannah’s famous apple pie recipe. The police department was going to use it in the annual town pie contest.”

“Oh.” I answered pretending to be surprised. “Wouldn’t that be cheating? I mean since it’s not an original recipe?”

Detective Woods looked away, knowing that he had been defeated. I smiled to myself as I thought of the warm, crispy, flakey crust of the apple pie that would be awaiting me when I got home.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Fiction Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

