Top 5 of the Month (February)

My favorite 5 books that I’ve read this month.

1) Room by: Emma Donoghue

I’d recently heard about this book and decided I would see what it was about. It was such an interesting subject to begin with and Donoghue’s choice of having the narrator be a five year old boy made the story that much more powerful! I had respect for “Ma” and how well she was raising Jack considering the fact that they were stuck in an 11X11 space. I found myself cheering for Ma and Jack and hoping that they would escape.                

2) Looking for Alaska by: John Green

This was such a great book. John Green deals with many of the problems that today’s teens face. I found myself getting pulled into the story and into the characters, especially Alaska. This might just be one of my favorite books!

3) A Nurse’s Story by: Tilda Shalof

I am planning to go to school for nursing next year so my mom picked up this book for me and I’m glad she did. Reading Shalof’s stories and experiences as a nurse made me even more excited to become a nurse. It was interesting to see the ups and downs of daily life in a hospital.

4) Half the Sky by: Nicholas D. Kristof & Sheryl WuDunn

I first heard about this book on Oprah and it’s been on my reading list for quite some time now. I finally picked up a copy to read. It was heartbreaking to read what some of these girls and woman have been through, but inspiring to see how people are making a difference.

5) A Streetcar Named Desire by: Tennessee Williams

Alright, well I had to read this one for English and I actually really enjoyed it. I thought Tennessee Williams’ wrote a powerful play that deals with issues and has an impact even today.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Top 5 Books of the Month and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

