The Scent of Cherry Blossoms

There was a period of time when I was enthralled with Amish fiction. I was very interested in reading stories and seeing the similarities and differences with my own life. I admit though there came a point where the stories all seemed the same; the plot didn’t have much variety. I was pleasantly surprised when I read this book by Cindy Woodsmall. It made me remember what I had first loved when reading Amish literature.
This Romeo and Juliet story stars Aden and Annie, who can’t be together because of their communities. Annie is an Old Order Mennonite, while Aden is Old Order Amish. This alone I thought was interesting because I never knew before reading this book that people from these different communities could not be in a relationship together.
At the same time there is another plot line. Roman, Aden’s brother, was in an accident years ago and is now in a wheelchair. The book follows Aden and Roman’s relationship, as well as Roman’s romantic life and how he is dealing with not being able to walk.
Overall, I really enjoyed this quick read. I liked reading about Aden and Annie’s relationship as well as learning about Roman. The only thing I disliked was that the ending seemed kind of abrupt. However, I would definitely recommend this better than average Amish read.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

