Sara’s Laughter

I will start off by saying that Tom Milton, the author, wrote the book with good diction and confidence. However, the plot had too much going on. Sara and her husband were having trouble getting pregnant, Sara had to care for her elderly father, they dealt with racism, Sara had a rocky relationship with her sister who was pregnant and had an abortion, and since they were Catholic in vitro and abortion were all big no-no’s. I felt that the book jumped around from scene to scene and it got a bit confusing, especially because throughout the book there were random flashbacks that would catch you off guard.
Another thing that I didn’t understand was Sara and her husband’s relationship. Sure they were in love, but when they met he was already married. The explanation was that they split up hours after their marriage because she realized she didn’t want black children; which seems pretty weird to me. Also the fact that Sara clearly didn’t follow all Catholic rules. For instance she had sex before she was married with multiple men and she didn’t see a problem with it. I’m a little confused why she is so adamant about following the Catholic rules on pregnancy and abortion.
Even though I was confused by parts of the book overall it was a fairly enjoyable read. I liked the fact that Milton brought up points such as abortion and racism; things that some authors are hesitant to discuss. I would recommend that others read this book for themselves to get an idea what it is about.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookCrash.com book review program, which requires an honest, though not necessarily positive, review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

About A Geek At Heart

My name is Liz and I’m 22. I’m a college student from Massachusetts currently studying Public Health. I love traveling, reading, and photography. I also like elephants and maps. If you have a book you would like reviewed, feel free to contact me.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

